Welcome to Shaking the Shadows from the Olive trees

Welcome to my new blog.

I am one of a group of people who will be travelling to a place that most of the world will refer to as the West Bank, a place which used to be called Palestine. This contentious area of land has been fought over for many years, back to the time of the Ancient Egyptians who sent armies to fight over and control it, to modern day Israel who believe they own it.

This Holy of Holy lands contains the seat of Christianity, the birthplace of Jesus Christ. It is also a holy land to the Muslim religion and the Jewish.

In this blog I do not intend to have a religious or political slant, I just want to share my feelings and observations of this far off land where people have to whisper the name Palestine for fear of causing trouble or even have to completely deny the place and people exist.

I am not travelling until August, but I decided to start this blog now so you, the reader can join me in my journey before I actually board the plane. Since booking this trip, I have been enlightened to the events happening day in day out for those living on the West Bank. The more I am learning the less I understand.

I want you to learn with me about this ancient land, its inhabitants, history and culture….and hopefully one day you may make your Destination Palestine as I have.

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Welcome to Shaking the Shadows from the Olive trees

  1. Elaine says:

    Love it. Can’t wait to read more. Well done you

  2. How wonderful. This will be a strong journey in many ways. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  3. Nicky Hatton says:

    Looking forward to reading more………………..:D

  4. Ruby Tuesday says:

    Fantastic! I’m really looking forward to reading this Blog , I think it will be an amazing journey.

  5. Its a journey of a lifetime……. enjoy and hopefully we will all enjoy this with you xxxx

  6. Ruth Hamblett says:

    Enjoy, learn how to protect ur self just incase, learn the odd swear word in their language, live and eat with the locals record ur thoughts in a daily diary like this one as well as a written 1 along with drawings like the 1 I kept in Paris.Wen u look back u realise how far u have come and grown as a person. I look 4ward 2 hearing ur travels.

  7. Dawn Willis says:

    How lovely – a blog to watch methinks. x

  8. cosmopolitanism says:

    Welcome to your blog and to its concept! As founding member of JCall Switzerland I believe there is room for a two state solution to be adopted ASAP!

  9. wow lisa good luck with everything.x

  10. jafr22 says:

    You say: “In this blog I do not intend to have a religious or political slant, I just want to share my feelings and observations of this far off land where people have to whisper the name Palestine for fear of causing trouble or even have to completely deny the place and people exist.” I think the first clause is incredibly sensible – to have no slant – but it is somewhat obviated by the rest of your sentence. I have spent quite a lot of time in this area over the past 20 years, and it is more complicated than anything else one will ever encounter – I strongly recommend you go having put all prejudices aside, with the firm intention of having long evenings with Arabs, Jews & Christians discussing the fate of their villages, & sticking to the intention expressed in your first clause. It is an overwhelming place & demands a great deal of passive listening. IMO!

    • Thank you for your comments.
      This is what I intend to do whilst I am there.
      This blog is not just about my journey in physically being there, but my journey in getting there too. I know that writing about anything to do with this area brings up many feelings and it is going to be difficult to write without ANY political slant whatsoever. Personally I am not politically minded, so wouldn’t be able to do that justice, but my writings are from my own opinion on a place I am yet to visit….maybe my views will change after being there who knows?

  11. jafr22 says:

    PS: to demythologise a bit, I have travelled to Israel many times with passports full of Arab (& Horn of Africa) stamps, & it is something they are very used to – not a problem. There are many commercial reasons why a person might travel between, for instance, Israel, Egypt, Jordan & Syria; all that is required is a rational explanation. A non-conventional attitude at border security is, however, a massive problem – just as in the US or the UK these days. No room for jokes or truculence. So the security system can be a great, humourless bureaucratic bore, but no worse.

  12. fiona adlington says:

    what an inspiration lisa.x

  13. Nathan says:

    Hello everyone,
    I will be moving to the Palestinian territory soon to receive my new job. As a westerner, can anyone provide me with leads on Expats forums for westerners in that area? I googled the net on forums in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, unfortunately, didn’t come back with much. Your help is greatly appreciated.

  14. Hi Nathan
    I am sorry but the only forum I can think of is the Trip Advisor one, and I can’t think that that would be of much use. Where are you going to be placed?

Leave a Reply

