Map of Palestine and Israel.

Since starting this blog a few people have asked me questions about what has happened to Palestine. As I have mentioned before I really do not want to get into the politics of what is happening, but for me, the easiest way I found to understand was this picture that was shown to me during a recent talk I went to from a woman who had spent 3 months working for a charity out there.

As you can see from the pictures, the state of Palestine has been seriously depleted and turned into what is known as Israel.

I am currently reading In Search of Fatima, A Palestinian Story.By Ghada Karmi. ISBN 978-1-84467-368-1

This is her memoir of her childhood in Palestine and how her family came to be in Golders Green in London after having to flee their country. It explains the modern history since her birth in 1939 and the displacement of the people. It is a thick book with 451pgs, but I am finding it fascinating reading and am learning a lot from it. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to discover more of what happened from a Palestinian child’s perspective.

Image

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Map of Palestine and Israel.

  1. Edward Jennings says:

    Hi Lisak,

    I hope that your visit to Palestine goes well, and that you will be able to have the satisfaction of doing something worthwhile in the desperate situation in which the people there find themselves. I’m bothered by the place and the people myself, but it seems as though neither side is really willing to make the peace.

    I don’t really know enough about the history, or the political or religious backgrounds to have any opinion other than that it’s a humanitarian catastrophe! Your map representations tell a familiar story, though, in that by changing the shapes and names; you could be describing, more or less, ANY country in the world! After all, which country hasn’t had its share of invaders and conquerors?

    While I abhor the subjugation of any ‘people’, as in the Palestinian Arabs, I also abhor the Arab determination to disallow the Jews a place in their traditional homeland, and their vow ‘To drive Israel into the sea’!

    I found the following on a site obviously written by a Muslim, after Googling ‘Palestine before Islam’

    “Palestine became under the power of the eastern Roman empire, and it’s capital was Constantine , until the Islamic conquest freed Palestine and gave an Islamic impression in the year 636.”

    It appears from this that the Islamic conquest was in order to create a Palestine which would be wholly Muslim, and never mind about the indigenous population and/or their Godly beliefs. Is this not the current position of those who would govern modern-day Palestine? Or do you really believe that Israel’s government would be as hard or intolerant if the threat to their very existence was removed?

    My heart goes out to these much-troubled, ordinary, people. But surely, they cannot really expect any other as long as their own government continues such an aggressive agenda against the very existence of the State of Israel?

    You could, if you had the will, compare the situation with our beloved Luxor: In the 1800’s I am led to believe that Luxor was mainly (two thirds, at least) populated by Christians, but now I believe that the proportions are more like 4 to 1 in favour of the Muslims. How would a similar set of maps look for here, I wonder? Yet there is no call to drive Luxor’s Muslims into the Nile, is there? Neither is there an international lobby to support the Christians of Luxor (or Egypt for that matter) against the continued onslaught of ever growing Muslim aggression here!

    Nevertheless, spreading love is never wasted, no matter where or whom it is directed at. God bless you in your endeavours.

  2. jeanette says:

    Wow Lisa so well planned so far,really enjoyed reading it.Such a lovely idea to take something with you that you enjoy,and that will benefit the Palastine people xx

  3. Beverley says:

    Sounds like a fascinating journey you are about to take Lisa…..sure to be an amazing time with so much to do and learn….good luck and I look forward to more blog posts. Bev x

Leave a Reply

