From Egypt to Palestine.

Today’s post is taking a slightly different slant about the trip I am making. For one to appease the tutor of my course on The History of Ancient Egypt (I could keep the link to my blog on our group page if I managed to link it in with Egypt)….and for two, because this is something I plan to do whilst there.

A few weeks ago there was a fascinating programme on BBC4 about Flinders Petrie, an archaeologist, nicknamed the ‘Father of Pots’ due to his painstaking work in documenting and dating pieces of excavated pottery and established the chronology of many sites in Egypt over his years of work.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01f13f4

I knew that Petrie had covered vast amounts of Egypt during his many years of careful excavations but what I hadn’t realized was that he had worked and lived in Palestine as well. He worked on Tell el Hesi in 1890 for the Palestine Exploration Fund and it was the first archaeological site excavated in the Holy Land. He also worked on a series of tombs in Wadi al Rababah, which was Biblical Hinnom. Eventually in 1933 he moved with his wife to live in Jerusalem in the American School of Oriental research until his death in 1942 when he was 89 years old.

He donated his head to the Royal College of Surgeons London, for research purposes, but his body was buried in the protestant cemetery on Mount Zion in Jerusalem.

As I say, this information was news to me about this eminent ‘Egyptologist’. I thought that Egypt was the one and only place he had worked and covered….and covered he did working on most of the major sites in his years there, including Giza (the Pyramids), The Fayoum, Luxor and my favourite place Tell El Armana.

Upon learning that this great man who had changed the way in Archaeology was buried in Jerusalem I have decided that during my visit I will endeavour  to visit his grave on Mount Zion and leave a little something there from my cherished trip to Tell el Armana.

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Egypt to Palestine.

  1. Looking toward to your pictures from his resting place 🙂

Leave a Reply

