Random act of kindness

Today I finished teaching a Reiki Master’s course. I was a little sad to see it over as it was my first Master teaching, but also pleased to see how Jules had evolved with taking her final step on the Reiki ladder so to speak. I left her house on a high, filled with love and gratitude.

On the way home I needed some milk (nothing like mundane tasks to bring you back down to earth eh?) so I popped to my local shopping area and decided to have a look in one of the charity shops. On the children’s rail was a football shirt, which I picked up. I then approached the manager and asked if they had many in and explained that a group of us were visiting Palestine and whilst there one of our group is organizing a football tournament for the local kids and as such we are collecting football tops. The manager promised me she would set them to one side for me and told me to pop back in on Saturday to see what they had. Whilst I was there I thought I would look at the books. As I went up the steps a lady approached me.

“I couldn’t help overhearing that you are going to Palestine, can I ask where?”

So I proceeded to tell her a little bit about the trip and what we are doing there. She opened her bag, took out her purse and pressed a Β£20 note into my hand to spend wherever I saw fit , “to help.”

I stood open-mouthed. This lady had never seen me before in her life yet trusted me with this money to help others. I was overwhelmed and didn’t quite know how to react apart from of course thanking her and saying “I wish the world was full of people like you.”

So today my heart has been full of love and gratitude, and a massive THANK YOU to Maggie for her random act of kindness.

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random act of kindness

  1. Ruby Tuesday says:

    Bless her! What a kind lady – there truly are some wonderful people πŸ™‚

  2. Prue says:

    That’s wonderfu! People are so amazing. Generosity like that takes my breath away. The world needs more of it – and I’m not just talking about generosity with money. We all need to slow down and consider what is important.
    PS just in case you didn’t realise – I’m doing Ancient Egyptian πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

