The Holy Land

So, this time next week we will all be in anticipation for our flight out to the seat of three major religions- Christianity, Judaism and Islam. A place which has been fought over since time began and will probably be fought over till the end of time. Last week, I was sitting in a church at a funeral, half listening to the vicar ‘doing her bit’ about Jesus dying for us on the cross when I had a strange feeling overwhelm me, and overwhelm me it did. Even though I am not particularly religious, a wave of something that I can not quite describe swept over me and I felt really emotional. Emotional for the fact that I am going to be visiting THE most holy of holy places. I will be following in the footsteps of Moses, Jesus and Mohammed.

I have already mentioned before that I will be visiting Jerusalem hoping to see Flinders Petrie’s grave on Mount Zion. A huge pull for me is the Wailing Wall. For years it has fascinated me seeing the most religious of Jews ‘rocking’ back and forth, reciting prayers as the wall is thought of as the only remaining element of their holy temple and the wall is now the Holy of Holies. Most people who visit will scribble prayer notes and post them into crevices between the rocks, believing that one day their prayers will be answered. I for one will be posting a note in this wall- a prayer for peace and unity, for all!

Over the next week I will be posting about a few ‘touristy’ and religious places I will be visiting. I will hopefully be continuing my blog as often as possible whilst I am away with my thoughts and feelings about where I have been and who I have met, but if my experience at Larry’s funeral was anything to go by…it is going to be one hell of an emotional ride!

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in culture, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Holy Land

  1. Ruby Tuesday says:

    I’ve always wanted to visit the Wailing wall so I’m really intrigued to hear of your experience there. Not long to go now!!

  2. Excellent stuff Lisa – hope you enjoy the ride! Looking forward to your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

