So much to write, so little time!

Hi Guys,

finally, I have some internet access for a quick update. Obviously I thought I would have more downtime than I have had. Lets just say they have been very long very emotional days so far.

The journey into Palestine was a relatively easy one. Yes, we were questioned, and yes, I now have an Israeli stamp in my passport, due to an over zealous passport controller who would have refused to let us through if we didn’t agree to get one. It was all very tense, but we all got there and were swept along then with all the Palestinians who also got through the stringent controls.

Arriving at the village was a quiet affair until word of our arrival spread and soon, it seemed as if hundreds of kids all descended upon the little road we were stopping in. It all got a little hysterical and one by one us weary travellers sloped off to hide at the back of the house on the terrace.

Next day and we were off to Hebron, about a 10 minute car ride away from the village. This was to see the real occupation, where half of the town is occupied by settlers and half by Palestinians. This day deserves a blog of its own, but lets just say it was emotional. I think I will be writing some quite long blogs once I get home, now realising how little time I have to write a blog.

The following day, Bethlehem and Jerusalem, we walked the wall crossed the checkpoint the Palestinians have to do daily, and visited the Wailing wall…at Shabbat, the Sabbath, sundown Friday. That was a REAL experience. Then we walked the route that Jesus walked whilst carrying the cross. It was another long and very emotional day for lots of reasons.

Yesterday the group split and myself and 3 others headed to meet Raziq, the olive farmer. Lets just say the news isn’t good, but I don’t want to post about it until he sends me his photographs.

Today, we have been split again, some are helping a family who have nothing, and I mean nothing. The kids have sores around their mouths and are filthy, the house just has a broken fan, and chair and a mattress on the floor. We have been out and bought them new clothes and have cleaned and painted the house. Tomorrow my job is to wash the kids (one I want to bring home with me!!)

I also started my Reiki workshop today, expecting 5 ladies, but ending up with 14 wanting to learn…..lets just say after only doing it on a one to one basis, this was certainly a different experience.

Sorry folks that this was such a short almost bullet point update, I will be writing at length when I get back home about all that has happened, but lets just say, I know I will be back to this wonderful country and its people.

Together we CAN and WILL make a difference.

 

 

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So much to write, so little time!

  1. Cool! You made it! Can’t wait for pics.

  2. Tracey holy says:

    Love it wish I was there

  3. Prue says:

    Great to see you’ve got there and you’re doing stuff. Look after yourself!
    Prue x

  4. Bernardette Feehan says:

    I knew you would fall in love with the place. There is nowhere else quite like it.
    Love, Bernardette xxx

Leave a Reply

