Reiki workshop and Outdoor showers.

Today I was in anticipation of the second part of my Reiki workshop. I went for breakfast to be greeted by a massive hug by our hostess Rafica. Her son Madjid who is disabled had slept for the whole night after she had done Reiki on him. She also said she had slept soundly and felt refreshed. I was then informed that today’s class was to be in someones house, apparently I agreed to that yesterday…this I was oblivious to as something must have been lost in translation. So at 10am I was ushered into a clapped out charabanc to take me to to my new ‘classroom’.

I arrived to just find the hostess there. I did wonder if she expected a one to one, or whether the group was going to turn up, whether they would all turn up, and how many new ones would turn up. Out of yesterday’s group, I had 8…plus 4 new ones, who I said could stay, but I couldn’t initiate them as they hadn’t come the day before.

Each and every woman, thanked me for helping them, they all had slept well and felt really refreshed. Third initiation, and we moved onto chakra balancing, which worked really well. I sat and observed this group of women of all shapes and sizes skin colour and age and each and every one of then regardless of the lack of language communication, embraced Reiki wholeheartedly.  I sat among them, feeling part of this lovely group, this sisterhood…..remembering then the Angel Card I had pulled that morning…..Sisterhood-Brotherhood. So now after a very different couple of days of Reiki teaching we have  8 new ladies on their Reiki path.

I eventually (after coffee, cakes and copious amounts of mint tea) headed back to the village. Time to wash the kids. So we filled the solar showers, left them in the sun for an hour and headed with water, shower gel and new, clean clothes for the 5 kids.

The girls couldn’t wait to get their clothes off when they saw their new outfits, however the boy who was about 7 was dragged kicking and screaming towards the shower we had hanging over a bucket. We had to manhandle him in, however, once in the warm water he loved it, sat down in the tub and we couldn’t get him out. We then washed their filthy clothes in the filthy water. Water is so precious here, that it can’t just be thrown away, no matter how dirty it is. However, after washing their original clothing, that water HAD to be thrown away. We then gave mum the other solar shower and off she disappeared. Once she was done we took the family down to our street. We were worried that the kids were going to get filthy again, they have no path down to their house, we all had to scramble down. It is bad enough in the daylight, let alone at night with no street lighting.

Amanda had organised the Village Olympics, so we wanted this family to integrate and the kids to join in, and join in they did, they loved it. These children didn’t seem to know how to laugh or smile but by the end of the day, they had taken part on relay races, hurdling, and sprinting. Mania descended upon the street as the kids got more and more excited as the races went on. Although we have only been here for a few days, we knew from experience if we, the adults didn’t disappear, the kids would be out annoying us all night.

So here I am now sitting sipping a Guava juice and ice cream at the Hebron Cafe using their internet. Tomorrow the plan is to visit the old city in Hebron, and see the occupation again for proper in H1 and H2. We also have a Baptism in Bethlehem to attend and a wedding in the evening…but so far one thing I have learnt is, nothing here goes to plan and who knows what tomorrow will bring.

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in culture, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

