Complete head f#ck day!

Today’s plan was to head to Hebron to see areas H1 and H2 areas. On the way we stopped at what is described as a Care Centre for Disabled…..I would describe it as more like an institute. We were shown around rooms, lined with cots and metal beds, with adults and children teathered to them. It was a pitiful sight and the first of today’s tears sprang from my eyes.
We were shown the Pool room and sauna room, both of which had never been used in a very long time. Apparently they only fill the pool for ‘private use’ , apparently the residents of this home are not ‘clean’ enough to use it!
We were then shown the children’s room. This was quite nicely decorated, with brightly coloured pictures on the wall. Most of the children were either in their cots, or wheelchairs, tethered to the wall. We soon changed all of that, children were taken from their beds…and yep, some of them were tied to their beds, and we had them all running around the room, pushing the others pushchairs. Whilst we did this, the staff didn’t move off their fat arses, until we told them that one of the kids needed water, his lips were cracked and he had white froth from his mouth!
This clinic had state of the art equipment that had been funded by various charities, but just not used, either though lack of the correct staff to use them, lack of understanding, or lack of care. I couldn’t wait to get out of the hell hole. One of the girls who is stopping with our group is going to volunteer in this centre….hats off to her, it’s a job I couldn’t do. I felt washed out after this hour and half long visit….little did I know what the rest of the day would bring!
It was as we were leaving that I noticed a twinkly eyed man sitting in a wheelchair. I was unsure whether he was a resident, staff, workman or whatever. We all greeted him and then discovered that this man had been shot in the Ibrahimi Mosque in Hebron by Baruch Goldstein, who entered and opened fire, killing 29 men and injuring over 200. This murderer never came to trial, and actually is hailed as a hero amongst many settlers.  Mohammed’s story was fascinating and we hung on every word. He then informed us that today he had a permit to be able to use his vehicle and asked us if we would like to travel with him to visit his home , right in the heart of the H2 area. How could we resist seeing his daily struggle to and from work with our own eyes? TBC…………….
About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in culture, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Complete head f#ck day!

  1. Prue says:

    It sounds emotionally exhausting. Do look after yourself and find time to recharge your batteries!
    Prue x

  2. Ali Lycett says:

    Lisa I’m loving hearing about your journey and eagerly await the next update. How heartbreaking to have experienced some of the sights you are seeing ,and are relatively incapable of implementing any kind of change at all. It must be so disheartening! My love and prayers remain with the group on your travels. I’m so envious of the experience.

  3. Karen Widmer says:

    keep smiling Lisa! Good luck, love k xx

Leave a Reply

