So, what do the children living in Gaza paint about?

How timely that this small exhibition was in Coventry for their Peace Festival. This showed a selection of art from the children of Gaza. I went to see the exhibition on Monday. There had been bombings in Gaza over the weekend, but nothing like the scale of what is happening right now with the senseless loss of innocent peoples lives….on both sides! I returned today to take photographs for the blog….I thought that their art should be seen by the world (or at least the little bit of the world who is reading this)

Unfortunately there are more children’s names being added daily to this list with the current attack on Gaza.

This exhibition is at Earlsdon Methodist Church until tomorrow, 3pm (Saturday 17th November) so, sorry, not much time even if you live locally to pop to see it, however, it is moving to St. Peters Church, Dormer Place, Leamington Spa, CV32 5AA. 22nd November-2nd December.

On the 2nd December at 12.15pm, there will be a talk by Karen Whyte about her experiences in a refugee camp in Bethlehem where she lived and volunteered for 3 months. (I have heard Karen talk and she is well worth making the effort to listen to)

I hope these images are not too upsetting for any of you, but this is what the children of Gaza are experiencing. These were drawn back in 2009, but right now the same is going on. Needless lives have been lost. The children still can’t paint grass and flowers and happy faces, things we take for granted that our children draw.

 

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Children's art, Children's writing, culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So, what do the children living in Gaza paint about?

  1. Prue says:

    It’s tragic that kids should know about warfare at first hand. It will affect them for the rest of their lives. It makes me mad!

    I’ve just see this on the BBC website and thought you might be interested. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-20415675

    After telling you last Saturday that the World Service hadn’t had anything about Gaza, there’s been quite a lot since 🙂

  2. Pingback: And so it continues……… | shaking the shadows from the olive tree

Leave a Reply

