A slight apology and a Happy New Year to you all!

As the last day of 2012 is upon us and the bright shiny future of 2013 is looming, I feel I owe you my readers a slight apology.

I started my blog back in April, which seems like a lifetime ago now. In my initial posting I said my blog would not have a political or religious slant. This was back when I was naively believing I could learn about the area and also visit whilst keeping an open mind about the occupation. This, I could not do and I do realize that my posts do have a political bias to them.

I have wholeheartedly been taken over by what has happened, is still happening and what will happen in Palestine and to the Palestinian people, especially the children. Can you imagine what it must be like growing up in that environment, with all your hopes and dreams that will never come into fruition?

I will be returning in the summer. This time travelling around more. I want to get people’s stories on how the occupation has affected them; their life hopes and dreams. But until then, I have a few ideas on how to keep this blog going, however, I would like YOU the reader to let me know what you want to read about.

I hope that in 2013 we hear of no more bombs dropping upon Gaza. No more persecution of the Palestinian people. No more settlements built upon Palestinian land. The things I have learnt and seen with my own eyes has really messed my head up in a way no other place has and all I keep asking myself is why?

At the end of the day, no matter what a religious book says, or what you believe we are all human beings. We all breathe the same air and bleed the same colour. Do we not have the right to live amongst one another in peace?

I wish all my readers who have stuck with me reading this blog a happy, healthy and peaceful 2013. I hope some of you have learnt something from reading this blog and following me on my huge journey in learning too.

Peace be with all of you.

This was painted in the village we stopped in by some of our group and the kids in the village.

This was painted in the village we stopped in by some of our group and the kids in the village.

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in culture, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A slight apology and a Happy New Year to you all!

  1. Ruby Tuesday says:

    The posts that I’ve found the most interesting are when we have heard individual stories of what people’s day to day life is like in Palestine and difficulties they’ve encountered. News coverage almost makes these people “faceless”. The individual stories help to bring it home that these are REAL people, with real hopes and dreams. People who love, who laugh, who cry, who have worries and aspirations. I’ve really enjoyed reading it and look forward to more in 2013. Happy New year!

  2. Thank you Ruby. That is why I want to bring people’s stories to the blog more. Once you see a name and a face you can relate to them and realise that they are not some faceless ‘terrorist’ as the media portrays. Thank you for sticking with the blog. Much appreciated and a happy 2013 to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

