Passport at the ready.

And so, in less than 48 hours I will be back again to the Holy Land, fought for throughout history by the Jews, Muslims and Christians. I for one am at a loss as to to how and why these three religions with such similar roots can be so far apart theologically (if that is even a word.)

Anyway, today’s post will hopefully be a bit more upbeat than the last as today I have almost dotted all the ‘i’s and crossed all the ‘t’s for my return.

This time Israel plays a bigger role and we have planned to do a road trip, renting a car to get us about. I will make sure that we get a good GPS system on-board, or lord knows where we will end up. So the plan is to see what we didn’t get to see in Jerusalem last time. This time we will visit the Wailing Wall when it isn’t Shabbat and we can’t get near it (as it is still my wish to leave a prayer in the wall). We will hopefully get into the complex of the Dome of the Rock and I will endeavour  to leave a piece of Egyptian pottery on Flinder’s Petrie’s grave as we never managed to make it onto Mount Zion last time.

We are also meeting some Israeli guys who have offered to show us around, these seem to be very far right in their politics, so it will be an interesting journey.

We have also made plans to visit Jaffa, Caesarea, Nazareth, Tiberias and the Golan Heights now you see why we need a good GPS system. I feel we will be like Thelma and Louise, but hopefully with Brad Pitt and without a big cliff at the end.

Obviously, we can’t go back without visiting the village we spent time in last year. A visit there is high priority as well as revisiting Bethlehem, Hebron and Jericho…and this time we WILL make it to Nablus with a side visit to Mount Gerizim and The Samaritans.

So, youth hostels booked, train and bus timetables printed off (for where we aren’t going to have a car), Suitcase packed…..and all I have to say is this is me signing off from a rainy, grey, English Sunday…and I will hopefully see you all on the other side with stories from our big adventure.

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Passport at the ready.

  1. Bernardette Feehan says:

    Lovely to see you today, looking very beautiful and as ready as you will ever be for what I think is going to be the journey of a life time. Enjoy and keep safe, my love and prayers go with you,

    Bernardette xxx

  2. Tara Conroy says:

    Safe trip there and back.
    Can’t wait for the updates! x

  3. pippaaustin says:

    MUCH luck with it all Lisa & I do look forward to hearing about it in due course!!! Love Pippa

  4. Morag Brand says:

    Happy and safe travels – can’t wait to hear all your tales! x

  5. Patricia Swalwell says:

    Bon Voyage…..enjoy it and give us lots of pics and details.

  6. Dawn Willis says:

    Wishing you a wonderfilled trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

