Walking the Wall

After leaving Claire’s we walked the wall that we had walked the previous year. We wanted to see if there were any changes, and boy there were. There were more posts on the ‘Wall Museum’ where people had written about experiences that had happened to them since Israel had been created.

I actually bought a book published by the Arab Educational Institute –http://www.aeicenter.org/ as part of their Culture and Palestine series. This book contains all the Wall Museum stories.

The wall still looms high cutting across the city of Bethlehem, but walking along this huge lump of concrete, gives hope with all its inspirational messages from all over the world.

hols and weddings 919

hols and weddings 920hols and weddings 921hols and weddings 922hols and weddings 928hols and weddings 929hols and weddings 931hols and weddings 932hols and weddings 935hols and weddings 936hols and weddings 937hols and weddings 939hols and weddings 940hols and weddings 941hols and weddings 943hols and weddings 944hols and weddings 945hols and weddings 946hols and weddings 947hols and weddings 949hols and weddings 948hols and weddings 950hols and weddings 951hols and weddings 952hols and weddings 953hols and weddings 954hols and weddings 955hols and weddings 956hols and weddings 957hols and weddings 958hols and weddings 958hols and weddings 959hols and weddings 960hols and weddings 961hols and weddings 962hols and weddings 963hols and weddings 964hols and weddings 965hols and weddings 967hols and weddings 970hols and weddings 971hols and weddings 974hols and weddings 968hols and weddings 975Last year we admired many of the pieces of art, for that is what they are, not just graffiti…after all Banksy, who has a few pieces of his graffiti art around Bethlehem is seen as an artist. Unfortunately, this year many of the wonderful pieces we looked at before had been painted over. I guess that is the life of the wall, ever changing. And let’s hope that one day it will change for the better and be removed and that post’s like mine will be part of the museum of the wall.

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Art, culture, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

