And so it continues………

I really hoped that by now the bombing would have stopped.

I really hoped by now there would be no more innocent people killed in very one-sided attacks.

I really hoped by now that the people of Gaza could start rebuilding their homes and lives again, but that seems a very distant dream at the moment from where I am sitting.

Almost 1000 Palestinians have been killed in this 3 week assault so far. Many of these had been buried under bombed out buildings and it was only with the short cease-fire that families could go and find their missing loved ones and give them a decent and holy burial. Many of these sadly have been children.

Schools and hospitals have been targetted. Children playing football on the beach have been bombed. Where is safe? No-where!

The Channel 4 journalist Jon Snow has just returned back to the UK from Gaza. Here he speaks from the heart about his experiences.

 

One can not fail to be moved by that report. Nor this blog post he made when leaving Gaza.

http://blogs.channel4.com/snowblog/bring-israelis-palestinians/24316

All over the world there are demonstrations where people have stood loud and proud against the attacks from Israel. Again we had another in Coventry, and again we gathered a crowd of about 300 people, but this week there were different faces, different voices. This week there were people who had never been to a demonstration before, but felt they had to do something out of what they had seen on the television.

This week, we decided to bring the voices from Gaza to Coventry. A couple of us had trawled Social media sites, finding tweets and Facebook statuses that we could read out. We picked members of the crowd to read them, children reading the children’s voices, elderly reading the elderly. Here are a selection….

Bloggers for Palestine- Their F16’S, drones and guns can kill our bodies, but they never kill our voice. One day our voice will reach to the sun.

Mona 31- We are living in constant fear. We have been bombed for 4 days now. I can’t as a mother protect my child and I can’t even tell him things are fine. My child is sleepless. Our house keeps shaking whenever a bomb is dropped by the Israelis. International community has to stop Israel. They can’t kill us in such a way where the world is watching and turning a blind eye.

Nadeen 12- On the third night I woke up to the sound of a huge bomb. I got out of bed afraid that the glass of the window would fall on me, but my parents, who came quickly, they calmed me down and told me to stay strong as God is always with us. My mum is the one who fears the sound of bombs the most. Zeina my sister or I come second, and in last places comes dad. Dad is really strong. He doesn’t fear things like mom does and he always makes sure that everything is ok. I got this from him. I really thank God for everything. I thank him for my home, family and life and most of all that I’m from Palestine, the Holy Land, the land of prophets, i’m really proud and I really love my life. I don’t want to die.

Youssef 9- I am 9 years old and I have witnessed 3 wars like this. Our rocket is nothing compared to the Israeli one. Israeli rockets hit all of Gaza. Everyone can hear the bombs. We all wake up terrified. But ours don’t cause such a thing. I ask other countries to help make Palestine free. Stop the war, after that God will help us.

Maher 19- I am leaving Al Shifa hospital now. I am not able to see these scenes of murdered people any more. I am not able to hear grown men and women crying and screaming. They just want justice. Where is it?

Malaka- I hope this will not be our last conversation, the situation is burning.

My father-“Looking forward to surviving. If we don’t tell the whole world we were not militant. We have never been used as human shields. We were at home aspiring life and peace.

My family had to walk over the corpses of casualties. I can’t imagine my younger siblings’ feelings with the image of blood indoctinated in their minds forever. Will they even believe in fake peace negotiations that bring them to this state of nonsence?

Sadly in 2012, I did a post about children’s art from Gaza. At that time there was yet another assault upon the people there and bombs rained down on them again. I would like to share with you the link to that page again….this is what the children of Gaza paint and draw. This is what they have in their lives. By the age of 7 they have lived through 3 of these major attacks (and lots of other ones that never make our media). The average age in Gaza is 17…..what hope do they have?

https://shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/so-what-do-the-children-living-in-gaza-paint-about/

 

 

 

 

 

About shakingtheshadowsfromtheolivetrees

I have a massive case of wanderlust and plan to see as much of this beautiful planet as I can before I die. I love Egypt, which gave me my first taster of Arabic culture, since then I have travelled to a few Arabic-speaking countries. My idea of a nightmare is an all inclusive 5* hotel resort. I much prefer to stay in basic accommodation in amongst the locals. Some of the best food I have eaten has been street food...and incidentally some of the worst has been in a 5*hotel. This year has given me the opportunity to visit Palestine, a place I loved to read about when I was younger in my children's bible. I am sure it isn't going to disappoint.
This entry was posted in Children's art, Children's writing, Uncategorized, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

